30. Tour of Slovenia June 12th - June 16th 2024

100 days to the 30th edition of the Tour of Slovenia

100 days to the 30th edition of the Tour of Slovenia

We’re 100 days away from the start of the 30th, anniversary edition of the Tour of Slovenia! Who will be the 25th winner of the race in more than 30-years long history of biggest cycling event in Slovenia. Or will one of the past winners conquer the Slovenian roads once again?

Last year winner Filippo Zana, and previous winners Rafal Majka, Diego Ulissi, Primož Roglič and Tadej Pogačar all have a chance. All of them are still very active and at the very top of the world. Of course, it all depends on the participation of their teams and themselves. Whichever shows up at the start will be welcomed with enthusiasm and will certainly be among the favorites.

Mitja Mahorič, Diego Ulissi, Primož Roglič, Jure Golčer and Tadej Pogačar have won the race twice, but no one has managed to win it three times before. Will any set a new record in 2024?

Slovenian riders won 14 times, while foreigners won 15 races, including five by Italians. Meanwhile, Slovenians lead the stage winners' standings with a convincing lead. They have won 56 times in 157 stages so far. Boštjan Mervar still tops the list with seven wins. Dutchman Dylan Groenewegen is the closest pursuer and the only candidate to climb to the top of the leaderboard, where he is three stage wins behind. He won three of the four stages in Rogaška Slatina, his first victory came in 2018, last two at last year's edition. If one of the finishes is in Rogaška Slatina again, the fast Dutchman will be the one to smile the most, as he has won four stage finishes alongside Robert Pintarič, Borut Božič and Diego Ulissi.

The route for this year's race has not yet been revealed, but we all hope that the Slovenians will match the rest of the world on the list of overall winners.

So far, we have hosted eminent cyclists from all over the world, including four Tour de France winners (Vincenzo Nibali, Egan Bernal, Carlos Sastre, Tadej Pogačar) and three Olympic champions (Alexander Vinokourov, Primož Roglič, Fabian Cancellara). Will any of them race in Slovenia in 2024? You will know soon!

The Tour of Slovenia will take place from 12 to 16 June.

Srečko Glivar & Janko Hrovat

Photos: Sportida